3Likes
  • 1 Post By Chris Jacobs
  • 1 Post By Jason Gillis
  • 1 Post By Chris Jacobs

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 9 Old 02-20-2018, 10:47 PM Thread Starter

Another darn newbie

Hello to all.

As tittle says I'm a newbie been reading the forum here for a while and noticed a few new members recently so figured what the heck time to join the party.

I posted in introductions that wife and I where looking at buying either a new Subaru forester or Jeep Compass in a manual transmission. Well I think we have decided on a Compass with the automatic go figure. In reading as much info as I can on here lots of great info! I saw Mudman1's post on the manual being geared a bit tall for much offroad. I ran the numbers in a crawl calculator and sure enough if you need to drive slow over rough stuff or pull a hill from a stop it could be done but a lot of clutch slipping would be required. The Subaru would be even worse so thank you Mudman1 for that info it really helped.

One thing we were looking at is cost to replace/rebuild an automatic after warranty. Then we found out we can get a lifetime warranty and not have to worry about it. I don't want anything to do with Subaru's CVT and their longest warranty only goes to around 120k. Also the Jeep seems better for the mild off roading we do so jeep wins!

Test drove a Compass with the auto and it was not what I expected from many reviews I read. It was smooth with just a little bit of lag when asked to kick down. Power to be was plenty adequate taking into consideration this is an eco 4wd suv that has some decent capability still left in it. It drove straight wheel was a little light brakes a little tight but not bad at all to me.

I was wondering though does the trans start getting a bit nutty and steering start to wander after they get broken in or if you get one that is good will be good to go?