• 1 Post By Matt Esteve
  • 1 Post By LaserJeep
  • 3 Post By Chris Jacobs
  • 1 Post By joninpa
  • 1 Post By Chris Jacobs

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 11 Old 03-08-2018, 06:38 PM Thread Starter

Newbie 4WD

Ok so this is my first time having a 4WD capable vehicle.

When I got it, the dealer told me I should just keep it in "Auto" mode if I dont plan to actually go on a beach, or offroading, etc. He said the jeep will sense rain, snow, etc and automatically change to 4WD as needed. Hence, the "Auto" I guess.

It has snowed a bunch since getting the car and when I drive I never notice the car go into 4WD. I tried looking at the manual but it doesnt really explain well enough to me at least, what is supposed to happen. Will it only switch to 4WD if there is >5" of snow or 10" or what?

So I have at times switched the knob to snow and i can definitely feel that its going into 4WD and i get the "4WD lock" light show up on the dash but is there something Im missing with the "Auto" option or am i just dumb?

'18 Compass Latitude
Diamond Black Crystal Pearl-Coat, Black cloth/leather interior
Navigation group
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 03-08-2018, 07:42 PM

To tell you the truth I have no idea how exactly the 4x4 works. The manual is very vague. I did find a document from 2017 about the Compass Select terrain system, I don't know the source of this, but I attached a screenshot.

I drive in auto unless there is pack snow on the road, then I switch to snow. I haven't had a chance to try the other modes yet.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg jeep_2017.jpg (48.0 KB, 15 views)
eboogz likes this.

'18 Compass 4x4 Sport 6-speed manual
post #3 of 11 Old 03-08-2018, 08:24 PM