My Jeep Compass Forum banner

2018 vs 2019 Compass Comparison

7K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Limitedstinggrey 
#1 · (Edited)
If you didn’t see my previous thread Jasmine my 2018 Compass was totaled a couple weeks ago. She was replaced with a nearly identical 2019 Compass and I’m noticing a few differences that may interest others on this site.

First, my drive train doesn’t make the howling/grumbling noise my 2018 made. :) You can see my posts in several threads about that during the time she was on the road. Sparkles, my 2019 Compass, runs silent as a morgue. *

Second, while both had the 2.4 w/ 9-spd a/t, the 2019 shifts much snappier with no high-revving before take off. It takes some self-control to keep stuff from flying off the dash when leaving a stop sign or traffic light. I’m a pretty easy driver so that snappy start is nothing I’m demanding, its just doing it naturally.

Third, the tranny seems willing to torque it out on a hill with no frantic gear-hunting like my 2018 did. Undoubtedly FCA has made some model-year performance changes, but it still has that funky lag from 5 to 4 when descending hills. From what I understand about the ZF9HP tranny, we just may be stuck with that.

Surprisingly, while my fuel economy was excellent in my 2018, my 2019 seems even a tad better. Today on an 85 mile trip from Lancaster to Franklin NH, I averaged 40.5MPG by the EVIC—half state highways at 50ish and half interstate at 70MPH. On my previous tank I got 35.1MPG by the EVIC and calculating by hand 369 miles ÷ 10.3 gallons = 35.8MPG. Since new in 850 miles my Compass is averaging 31.5 by the EVIC and that includes some city driving and c100 miles of other people test-driving my vehicle before I bought it and long idling to cool the cabin before test-driving in July heat. That part was out of my control.