My Jeep Compass Forum banner

Get Through Firewall

26K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  Mother_Superior 
#1 ·
I want to run wires for emergency lights (I am a EMT) and cant seem to find a way to get through the firewall into the passenger compartment. Any help would be great!!!! Thanks!

#2 ·
if you pull the carpet back on the floor starting at the top just above and behind where the gas and brake pedals are, you will see a rubber hose (its the ac vent drain) going into the floor, pull that out and you will have a hole that runs straight into the engine bay to run wires ect, it may be a bit tough to get the hose back in if you really stuff alot of wires in it, but I had no problems getting mine back in once I ran the power line for my stereo. PM me if you need more help.

#4 ·
There you go, that would be the one to use. You would not want to block the A/C drain and have it backup. Otherwise make a small hole and push a grommit in it beside the drain hole if there is nothing for the drill to hit going through. You got to check that though yourself.

Reactions: 10-64
#5 ·
The AC drain doesn't actually get blocked, I used this same technique on my 2008 Patriot and used it for 4 years with no problems, however if you found another way to get through by all means use that.

#6 ·
let me clarify my post. there should be a grommet, and that's where i would imagine it would be. this was the technique used on the dodge sedans in the 90's and early 2000's to get from the engine bay to the passenger compartment. you just cut a hole in the grommet and run the wires inside that. but i don't know for sure that the compass automatic still has the hole in the firewall for the manual, nor do i know for sure that it is unused on the automatic.

#7 ·