Rattling noise in front of compass - Jeep Compass Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 6 Old 09-12-2013, 02:06 PM Thread Starter

Exclamation Rattling noise in front of compass

Okay, I'm not a auto mechanic but i am mechanically inclined. I have this noise coming from what appears the front tire area of the car, more from the passenger side than the driver side. I've changed all three motor mounts, noise still there. I changed the struts, noise still there. The last thing I tried was wheel bearings, and the noise is still there. Struts were leaking when i changed them and the motor mounts were bad also, but the bearings seemed okay. I did have play when i tried moving the tires back and forth when up in the air so thats why i changed the bearings. When I'm driving on regular road is sounds like something is loose at the tires. When i hit a big bumps noise is there, when i go over small bumps noise is there. On the highway you don't hear anything,it runs smooth, just when i get on regular streets is when i hear the rattling. Check the cv axle and it fine. I can't figure it out Has anyone ever had this problem? By the way my compass is an 07, 2.4L with 100k miles. please help me cause i'm going crazy. I've tried the dealership twice and i can't even get an appt cause they are always booked.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-12-2013, 05:21 PM

Can you replicate the noise by rocking the front from either side in the driveway?

I don't know what is there to rattle but it could be a bad choice of words to describe the sound. Check for worn balls on the torsion bar support arms. You can reach over the wheel to feel if they're moving when someone with a few muscles is rocking it side to side. Mine went but makes a knocking sound going over irregular surfaces and speed bumps.

Jeep Compass 2009
4x4, 2.4L, CVT
North Edition
heated seats, TPMS
General Altimax RT43 P225/65R17
Yellow Fog Lamps
CLASS III Curtis Hitch