Cluster test mode - Jeep Compass Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 2 Old 09-06-2010, 12:18 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Cluster test mode

Has anyone ever ran the instument cluster test? When I was a BMW tech we ccould run a test on the cluster to ck all lights and gauges etc. I tried the same method on my 2009 Compass and it works the same. Hold the trip rest button inand turn the key on at the same time. All the gauges will sweep and lights come on to let you knoe the bulbs are good. There are also some numbers that flash in the mileage display and cycle through some different things. Are there are Mopar techs on here that know what those numbers mean? They may be a software version of the cluster or something.

2011 Compass Latitude ,28B ,Freedom Drive II Off Road Group, Sun & Sound ,,Bright Silver,Husky Liners,Mopar Molded Flaps,Xpel clear door edge guards, Stainless Steel exhaust tip.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 09-06-2010, 05:06 AM
Administrator

I have heard of this, we call it the "gauge dance" or "cluster dance" lol. We had a thread on this on another forum I'm on, here's a synopsis of that conversation (edited for content and language):

Q: Impatient as I am I tried to reset my oil change light like my tundra was and have the truck off and hole the trip reset and put it to the on position. The message display had a lot of letters and numbers and my guages were systematically dancing and all the lights on the dash were blinking randomly. Lack of better thing to do in the situation, I turned the key to off. Just went to key it back on and it was all normal.

What the heck did I do? I apparently didnt do anything harmful, but would love to know what I did.

A: You sent a continuous signal to the PCM by holding the button.

Don't do that.