Seat belt alarm - Jeep Compass Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 3 Old 12-23-2014, 04:24 AM Thread Starter

Seat belt alarm

Hi, I'm a newbie, just bought a Jeep Compass today. Seems like a great vehicle.

Two strange issues:

1. Thinking about this it may have a simple answer, the front screen wash control puts water on the rear window, the rear screen wash control puts water on the front window. I'm thinking the hoses from the reservoir have been swapped?

2. The seat belt alarm sounds when I have the seatbelt on but stops when I take it off. Here I think the previous owner has swapped something so that they could drive without the belt on?

Where should I be posting these question?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 12-23-2014, 11:54 PM Thread Starter

Sear belt alarm

I've sorted the washers by swapping the hoses. Anyone have any idea how to correct the seat belt alarm?
post #3 of 3 Old 12-29-2014, 08:00 AM

Welcome aboard buddy, what year model you got? You can try this, from p. 58 of 2001 OM 6th edition:

"BeltAlert�� can be enabled or disabled by your authorized dealer or by following these steps:
NOTE: The following steps must occur within the first 60 seconds of the ignition switch being turned to the ON/RUN or START position. Chrysler Group LLC does not recommend deactivating BeltAlert��.
1. With all doors closed, turn the ignition switch to the LOCK position and buckle the driver or front passenger seat belt.
2. Turn the ignition switch to the ON/RUN position and wait for the Seat Belt Reminder Light to turn off.
3. Within 60 seconds of turning the ignition switch to the ON/RUN position, unbuckle and then re-buckle the driver or front passenger seat belt at least three times within 10 seconds, ending with the seat belt buckled.
NOTE: Watch for the Seat Belt Reminder Light to turn on while unbuckling and off while re-buckling the seat belt. It may be necessary to retract the seat belt.