New to Jeep...well, this one, anyway - Jeep Compass Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Latitude2016

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 2 Old 09-10-2016, 06:10 PM Thread Starter

Garage
New to Jeep...well, this one, anyway

Hello. I just bought my Compass, explained in my sig line, two days ago. With all of the dealer and manufacturer incentives on top of the trade in and cash added, I couldn't pass it up. I was nervous, but did my homework on what was best to get, and found the 2.4L with 6 speed transmission locally. I'm not super crazy about the color, but the price made that issue disappear...or at least become less of an issue for me. Other than some issues with UConnect dropping both UCI and BT connections, I'm enjoying what I have. The dealer will make the radio issue right for me...I have no doubts about that.

Like I said, I'm new to this type of Jeep. I used to have a 1976 CJ5 with a Ford inline 6, that I learned to drive on the farm with. My brothers and I rolled that poor CJ so many times, but once back on it's feet, it always ran. Rusted fuel tank was replaced with an empty aluminum beer keg that we strapped in the roll bar. It was ugly, but it worked...exactly what a Jeep should do.

I'll never be able to take this Jeep where I can go in my F250s (I own two of the old brick nose Fords), but this will get me where I need to go in a safe manner.

I have a few grand left from the purchase that I plan on using for future modifications. I like the look of the 2" lift from RRO, as well as the front winch with facia mod. I also like the looks of RRO's roof rack ideas, too.

Anyway, that's me and my Jeep life thus far. Hope to see y'all around and gain much knowledge through the interwebs about this vehicle and it's capabilities.