Perfect Tow vehicle - Jeep Compass Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 1 Old 12-24-2018, 03:28 PM Thread Starter

Perfect Tow vehicle

Didn't even know the Jeep Compass existed Until about 3 weeks ago. I deliver vehicles for a living so I'm always looking for the perfect vehicle to tow behind whatever I'm delivering whether it's A RV or a truck at cetera.There are 5 or 6 criteria for the perfect Tow vehicle and I've never been able to Find a vehicle that meets All criteria. 1st is to have a little bit taller hatchback so that you can get stuff in-and-out easily and carry more cargo. There are very few Automatic cars you can tow with all 4 Wheels on the ground so you usually have to get a vehicle with a manual transmission. For my industry it helps if you can get a vehicle with 4 wheel drive but a lot of those vehicles are classified as all wheel drive and therefore can't be towed. The hardest criteria to meet, is if you can find a taller hatchback with a standard transmission and 4 wheel drive capability, there is only a few whose weight come out below most States recommended towing weight without using a brake assist device. At about a curb weight of 3500 pounds the compass is the only one besides the Patriot that meets this criteria. Even the Wrangler is heavier. The last important criteria for the perfect tow vehicle is one with at least a decent gas mileage. Other Taller hatchback 4 wheel drive models ( Which are still heavier) That I looked at have at best a "listed" highway mileage of 23 to 24 mpg. As I've already said the only 2 vehicles I found that meet all criteria are the Compass and the Patriot. I bought a 2009 Compass which is the 1st year that they were made which you can tow with all 4 wheels On the ground. So far am absolutely loving it. The various tow bar manufacturers do have a bracket for making this Jeep towable but in looking at the hardware it looks a little too flimsy for me to trust. I usually have my hitch custom made