Low Beam Not Working, Not TIPM - Jeep Compass Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 5 Old 07-30-2015, 08:12 PM Thread Starter

Low Beam Not Working, Not TIPM

I have a 2007 Jeep Compass. The passenger low beam is out. I replaced the bulb to no avail. I'm a novice with a multimeter, but I was able to tell that power from the low beam is not making its way to the headlamp harness. After looking online, I read that the TIPM is often the culprit and usually requires a reset. I took the jeep to the dealer, but they could not find any codes in the TIPM.
As a last resort, I spliced a wire from the driver's side low beam (which works) to the passenger's side low beam. I thought that would work for sure, but nope. The driver's side low beam still works fine, but the passenger's side is still out.

Any ideas for what to try next? I thought that maybe the ground wire on the passenger harness could be the culprit, but if that were the case, it seems like the high beam would be out too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 07-30-2015, 08:27 PM Thread Starter

Quick update: my workaround (splicing a wire from the driver low beam to the passenger low beam) actually worked. I just needed to clamp down harder on the quick splice connectors. That being said:

(1) Any ideas for what could preventing power from getting to the passenger low beam through its own wiring?

(2) If I keep my cheater wire running from the driver's side, should I install an inline fuse since there are now two low beams running on one low beam circuit? Or is the extra power draw minimal?
post #3 of 5 Old 07-31-2015, 03:43 PM

I don't have a Compass schematic but the left and right side headlamps have typically their own fuse and circuit. You are now doubling the current to power both headlamps and may blow the controlling components over time. There may be a fuse in the TIPM for headlights but the TIPM does do the control (off/On) function for pretty much everything.