2013 Compass - P0480 - Check Engine Light - No Fan - Solved - Jeep Compass Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 1 Old 04-15-2018, 01:10 AM Thread Starter

Red face

Hello!

I'm posting this since I never found any posts or youtube videos related to P0480 on Jeep Compass 2013, hopefully this can also help someone out there. This is my first car, and I'm pretty new to car engines, so when the check engine light suddenly turned on while I was driving, just imagine how worried I was. I immediately checked the error code using Innova 3100 scanner and as soon as I got the error code, I started researching what the issue could be. The check engine light turns on intermittently, it turns off when not using A/C or weather is too cold. When I popped the hood I found that the driver side radiator fan was not turning on causing the error code.

Since we live in Calgary, it's pretty darn long and cold during winter. Even knowing the issue, I was still driving my Compass in short distances and the engine light never turned on. Now, that spring is finally here, I had the time to check the this issue once again.

There were some guesses that me and my dad thought could be the problem
- Fuse issue
- Fan itself is dead/stuck
- Relay issue
- Wiring could be faulty (corroded)
- Temperature gauge is faulty

We initially checked the fuse box and everything looks OK, nothing busted. Next is the fan, to make sure that it's free and can spin, that looked OK too. My dad thought of checking the wiring and power to the fan, but that was too much work so I then checked the relay box. The location of the relay box is at the lower side of the back of the driver's side headlights.