My Jeep Compass Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
2020 Jeep Compass Trailhawk
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to this whole tech thing. I’m disabled and need some help. My auto stop start went out, I took it to get repaired, but it rarely if ever works now. I’m confused, my mechanic is confused. $1,700.00 later, new parts, and it only stops once per ride. Can anyone please offer me some advice?

· Registered
381 Posts
I little more detail on what is happening would help. And what your mechanic replaced.
You can shut the the start stop off by pushing the button on the left of your center counsel.
You can also eliminate the start stop. Some google searches will lead you to many videos that may help you.
Here is one for your to look at.

· Administrator
2,476 Posts
I'm not sure how they got to $1700 -- that seems steep but of course I don't know what they did.

As for shutting off the stop/start system, the underlying problem is still the battery(s). There are two: one is the typical service battery, but there is also an auxiliary battery just for the stop/start system. If the auxiliary battery is weak it drains the service battery and then you need to replace both.

Frankly the stop/start system is a waste of money. I doubt it even saves the fuel the government regulators think it does. Even one trip to the dealer to have the system serviced probably equalizes all the fuel you'd save over the lifetime of the vehicle. If you have to make two or three trips to the dealer, it is actually counterproductive. That's where I think we're at.

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I little more detail on what is happening would help. And what your mechanic replaced.
You can shut the the start stop off by pushing the button on the left of your center counsel.
You can also eliminate the start stop. Some google searches will lead you to many videos that may help you.
Here is one for your to look at.