My Jeep Compass Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a college student who is considering buying a used car. I had a Chevy but I couldn’t afford insurance because I was too young,had a car accident before the Chevy and I was Finically paying it every month. With the total of payments and car insurance I was wasting 900 dollars every month. Mentally and physically I couldn’t stress paying that amount every month so I Voluntary Surrender it. But now I been looking to buy a car that cost 5k or 4K to get to work and school. So I was wondering if it’s Worth buying a 2012 Jeep Compass that has 140k Miles. I was looking at some pictures of the car and it looks very decent. But I’m just concerned for the high miles that the car has. I was thinking of buying a Honda but majority of the Honda’s I been looking are all ether 7k or 9k and I desperately need a car before the spring semesters starts. Yes I have use Uber and I tried using the public bus, but I just miss having a car.

·
891 Posts
Welcome Zelda0330! Glad you found us. I hope you get some good advice here.

Now keep in mind I can't see the car. If its a manual transmission its probably a fair deal. Still no reason you can't try talking the seller down some.

If its an automatic its a CVT transmission and they are known to fail in the 150,000 range. I've had two CVTs, one failed at 110,000 miles, the other at 170,000 miles. Mine were replaced free-for-nothin' by the lifetime warranty so I have no complaints. You are not the original owner, so you will be paying for repairs out of your pocket. Jeep won't fix a CVT, only replace it. That's about $4000 so if you're already in a bad position financially, a major repair could be a headache you don't need. If my tranny failed it would be a nuisance; for someone on a limited budget, it would be a disaster.