My Jeep Compass Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi -
I'm looking at a 2011 compass with 35,000 miles. It's had an excellent service history until after it went up for sale at a local dealer. About a week after it went up for sale they performed some service - the vehicle history report shows"Four tires mounted and balanced
Front brake pads replaced and rotors resurfaced
Rear brake pads replaced and rotors resurfaced
Left tie rod end replaced
Two wheel alignment performed"

Does that seem normal for the year/mileage?
Thanks - it would be my first jeep

·
Registered
6 Posts
tie rod

Brake pad replacement sounds ok, tires.. maybe they just want to make it look good to sell it faster... left tie rod end? Why only left? Makes me think maybe its been in an accident... doesnt mean you shouldnt buy it though, check it out, im no expert. just my opinion. Good luck

·
Super Moderator
534 Posts
Tie rod replacement may not be an indication of an accident on these vehicles. On the older Compass' (2007-2010) the suspension was the weak spot and many parts of it were replaced under warranty and out of warranty well before they normally would have been replaced.

It may have been in an accident though, make sure if possible you see why those components were replaced.

·
Registered
1,897 Posts