My Jeep Compass Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Jeep Compass Limited 2019, 8k miles so barely been driven.

Only had it a month or so and the stop/start function has never worked. Unless I'm being an idiot.

The stop/start function is switched on via the button next to the electric handbrake, the dash pop up message confirms this as well. I come to a stop, put in neutral with handbrake on. Nothing!

Am I being stupid or is this a common issue with the Jeep Compass?

Google seems to suggest having a low battery may be a cause. See photo of battery condition (again I'm no car expert at all) but does that show that my battery is half charged? Should the white line be all the way to 18?

Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
Stop start not working is a common issue but you can just ignore it if it's not giving you error messages about it on the dash. It doesn't do anything. That system does not actually work to save any meaningful amount of fuel whatsoever.

·
Registered
285 Posts
First if you are pushing your start stop button and the little light come on, that means you just shut the system off. So yes it will not work. Your little light by the switch should be not be on.
Your voltage is reading is fine. That is reading your main battery. You also have a smaller battery that used for your stop start function. But your voltage reading comes from your main (bigger battery)

Reactions: Tactical.cichlid

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
First if you are pushing your start stop button and the little light come on, that means you just shut the system off. So yes it will not work. Your little light by the switch should be not be on.
Your voltage is reading is fine. That is reading your main battery. You also have a smaller battery that used for your stop start function. But your voltage reading comes from your main (bigger battery)